Despondency

Posted on

The silence here is mind shatteringly deafening
Where are the voices in my head?
Deserted I stand, haunted by nothing but nothingness.
I look up at the house.
That house which once held my hopes and fostered my dreams.
The air of gloom that hangs there now is potent to my lungs
What perils awaits me?
A broken relationship between a father and his child.
Duplicate personalities, generations apart.
Crude, uncaring, unapologetic eyes stare down at me from the maleficent tower which was once my home
i meet that stare with one of my own.
Cold, and indifferent
Oh how time has molded me to be the exact replica of him.
The gloom creeps up on me again,
Turning now into an air of bitterness
The mad man that lives within me has begun to stir
He spews Thunderous rapids of resentment
They erupt within my head and for a brief moment I miss the deafening silence
I quiet him down
Today is not the day for a clash of the personalities,
Today I bury all thoughts of abandonment and feelings of hatred
Today I end the me that was.

Sereta Thompson
January 2014

 

Leave a comment