Mission Statement

Posted on Updated on

So while brain storming and trying to come up with the elements required for the business plan. I came up the brilliant of turning myself into a business (No funny business…)

Its interesting, we all have dynamic talents and sadly these talents are wasted when we join organizations owned and operated by “the big man” I actually think these talents are lost when we create our own businesses as we have to think of fields unsaturated and all that jazz.

Oopse (I side tracked)

So while thinking of my offerings to this great big world, I came up with my vision. And from that I scribbled a mission statement. (Which is what it is in its humblest form) “kill people, burn shit fuck school.” Ok so I’m just kidding but wouldn’t that be interesting. Not very customer friendly though. I found I was having a real hard time coming up with a mission statement so, I went and researched some.

These are the top few that I found very inspiring.

  1. Mahatma Gandhi

‘Let the first act of every morning be to make the following resolve for the day:

I shall not fear anyone on earth, I shall fear only God, I shall not bear ill toward anyone, I shall not submit to injustice from anyone, I shall conquer untruth by truth and in resisting untruth, I shall put up with all suffering’

  1. Denise Morrison, CEO  of Campbell Soup Company

“To serve as a leader, live a balanced life, and apply ethical principles to make a significant difference.”

  1. Oprah Winfrey, Founder of OWN, The Oprah Winfrey Network

“To be a teacher. And to be known for inspiring my students to be more than they thought they could be.”

  1. Sir Richard Branson, Founder of The Virgin Group

“To have fun in [my] journey through life and learn from [my] mistakes.”

The most inspiring of these I found to be that of Mahatma Gandhi because not only does it reflect his personal objectives for himself, his personal mission also has a personal offering to the greater world. How inspiring.

So I will consider these 4 inspiring mission statements as I brainstorm and try to formulate that of my own.

Sereta Thompson

Leave a Reply

